The following states participate in the Schools of Character program. Applications from schools and districts located in these states will be reviewed first by our state affiliates. Click on your state to learn more about what's happening near you and to contact your state coordinator for resources. Don't see your state listed? Learn how to start a Schools of Character program in your state .

Arizona Arizona Character Education Foundation

Florida Florida 

Illinois University of St. Francis College of Education and the Will County CharacterCoalition

Iowa Character Counts in Iowa/Institute for Character Development at Drake University

Kansas Kansas State Department of Education

Kentucky Character Council of Greater Cincinnati & Northern Kentucky

Michigan Michigan Department of Education

Minnesota Synergy & Leadership Exchange

Missouri CHARACTERplus and the St. Louis Rams

New Jersey New Jersey Alliance for Social, Emotional and Character Development (NJASECD)

New York Academy for Character Education at the Sage Colleges

North Carolina North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Ohio Character Council of Greater Cincinnati & Northern Kentucky


Pennsylvania DeSales University

Texas Texas Elementary Principals & Supervisors Association

Virginia School of Education at Regent University

Wisconsin Wisconsin Character Education Partnership